Publications

Buy a copy of How to DIY A Feminist Restaurant (only $4.95 through Microcosm Publishing): https://microcosmpublishing.com/catalog/zines/9138


Alex Ketchum's peer reviewed academic publications on feminist restaurants and feminist food:

"Counter Culture: The Making of Feminist Food," Cuizine: Journal of Canadian Food Studies. Volume 2, Number 2. 2016/2017. https://www.erudit.org/fr/revues/cuizine/2016-v7-n2-n2/1038477ar/  (open access)

"'The Place We've Always Wanted to Go But Never Could Find': Finding Woman Space in Ontario's Feminist Restaurants and Cafes 1974-1982," Feminist Studies, Issue 44, Number 1, 2018, 126-152. http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.15767/feministstudies.44.1.0126

« Memory Has Added Seasoning », Anthropology of Food [Online], Articles, Online since 26 April 2019: http://journals.openedition.org/aof/9904 (open access)


“Restaurant Management” in Albala, Ken. The Sage Encyclopedia of Food Issues. Sage Publications, 1203-1206. 2015.

CuiZine Spring Issue of 2018: “Fermentation as Engagement: on more-than-human connections and materiality,” Guest Editor Introduction
http://id.erudit.org/iderudit/1052113ar

Find out what's being written and said about The Feminist Restaurant Project!

Interview with CBC Radio Montreal's "Daybreak" on March 15, 2018



“The Scholar Mapping America’s Forgotten Feminist Restaurants”, interview with Reina Gattuso of Atlas Obscura, June 22, 2019 https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/feminist-restaurants

“Reclaiming Cooking: The Legacy of Feminist Restaurants”, interview with Sarah Cooke of Fembot Magazine, July 9,  2019, https://fembotmag.com/2019/07/09/reclaiming-cooking-the-legacy-of-feminist-restaurants/
Interviewed for Oyler, Lauren. "Eating Out, as a Feminist." Broadly. 28 Sept, 2015 https://broadly.vice.com/en_us/article/eating-out-as-a-feminist

Interviewed for Vice Magazine: Kennedy, Alicia. "This Consciousness Raising Cafe Wants You to Eat Like a Feminist." MUNCHIES. Vice Magazine, 20 July, 2018 http://munchies.vice.com/articles/this-consciousness-raising-cafe-wants-you-to-eat-like-a-feminist

“How to Start a Feminist Restaurant: A Chat with Alexandra Ketchum,” Interviewed by Nursing Clio on feminist restaurants on September 4, 2018: https://nursingclio.org/2018/09/04/how-to-start-a-feminist-restaurant-a-chat-with-alexandra-ketchum/

Radio interview on CKUT 96.7, Sudburry, Ontario’s "Eat This, Drink That," July 4, 2019

Book reviewed by Liisbeth: Field Notes for Feminists in Business on March 16, 2018 https://www.liisbeth.com/2018/03/16/liisbeth-dispatch-41/
http://beertodaybeertomorrow.com/index.php/2017/09/29/food-feminism-fermentation/


Interviewed by Radio-Canada: Winnipeg by Martine Bordeleau. « la journée de la femme et le mouvement d'identité féministe dans des restaurants>>; March 8, 2017. (interview starts at 7h24)

Interviewed by student journalists of the Wesleyan Argus on my invited guest talk on Capitalism, Feminism, and Restaurants, http://wesleyanargus.com/2018/10/08/ketchum-12-discusses-research-on-feminist-restaurants//, October 8, 2018

Research cited by Maria McGrath in “Living feminist: the liberation and limits of countercultural business and radical lesbian ethics at Bloodroot Restaurant”: https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/17541328.2016.1245910?src=recsys&journalCode=rsix20

Also, one of my students Eléa Regembal recently created a map about Montreal lesbian bars: bit.ly/lesbianbarsmtl